Author Topic: Building bugs and bad building  (Read 5578 times)

Offline Molly

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Building bugs and bad building
« on: October 23, 2010, 04:29:19 am »
When we first started 4D, the entire building staff - including myself - were total newbies at our job. I had only built a Clan HQ in my earlier mud when I was made Head Builder. And the code change from Mythran to Circle didn't make things any easier either.
Consequently, whenever I update one of our older zones, I find loads of annoying mistakes - some of which I caused myself.
Even today some mistakes seem to be rather common, since we still have a number of pretty inexperienced builders.
The errors/mistakes/bugs I notice are mostly with resets and shops, and of course, scripts.

This leads me to think that we need to clean up some building routines, and if any of you guys notice any "bad patterns", especially in old zones, please share the knowledge here.

Let me start with some of my own observations of common builder mistakes, and questions that I often get from new builders:

RESETS:
1. If you put a maxload of more than 1 on a reset object, you always need to put in a remove command before the load command, otherwise the objects will pile up in the room until they reach the max number.
Example:
0 - Remove the fir tree [52735] from room.
1 - Load the fir tree [52735], Max : 999

2. The same remove command should be used for fountains, to make sure that they are always filled, and for containers, to ensure that any item loaded inside them reloads each time the zone resets. (Otherwise the content will only load after a reboot or crash).

3. If you want to load more than one on the same object in a room, it's best to put these objects in some kind of container.